top of page
My Pick:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

Facial Mask Layering.... but not all at once

A few months ago I saw a comment or a blog or something... I know, totally vague and lame, but for the life of me I cannot remember where I saw it, however, I remember what it said. The (whatever it was), mentioned that a friend of theirs used 3 masks, in their weekly routine, one after the other.

I've been layering my face masks for around two to three months now, and I haven't had any major problems with my skin. The odd breakout at that time of the month but that's about it.

Here are a few articles on different skin types and the different face masks you can use.

I have seem to have acquired quite a collection of facial masks, since I started layering.

Above photo from top left to bottom right:

1. Temple Spa - Trufflesque, hydration and radiance (review here)

2. L'Oreal - Pure Clay, detox (review here)

3. Temple Spa - Purification, deep cleansing

4. Nip+Fab - Glycolic fix, gentle exfoliator

5. Boots - Tea Tree & Witch Hazel with active charcoal, deep cleanse (review here)

6. Queen Helene - Mint Julep, cleans and refreshes

7. Liz Earle - Deep Cleansing mask, purifies and regulates oiliness

8. Nip+Fab - Dragons Blood, plumping mask (review here)

9. L'Oreal - Pure Clay, Glow Mask (review here)

10. L'Oreal - Pure Clay, Purity (review here)

Photo below, top to bottom right:

1. Garnier - Moisture Bomb, hydrating

2. Boots Ingredients - Roobios, energising & revitalising

3. Boots Ingredients - Safflower and Peony, luminous youth

4. Boots Ingredients - Lotus Flower and Tiger Lily, radiance & brightening

5. 7th Heaven - Passion Peel-off, exfoliator

6. Superdrug - Black Seaweed Peel-off mask, cleanse and detoxifies

7. 7th Heaven - Manuka Honey Peel-off, purify and exfoliate

I have totally weird skin; in that, I have combo to oily skin with dry patches that is also sensitive and acne prone.

I've tried regular exfoliators, you know the ones with scrubby particles in them, but most of those are way too harsh for me, leaving my skin feeling exposed and almost raw. I have found that the Biore Charcoal Pore Minimiser, has enough scrub to actually exfoliate my skin but gentle enough, that it doesn't make my skin feel raw, and it does make my pores look minimised. Although, I have the L'Oreal Pure Clay Glow Mask, I very rarely use it, as the scrub particles in it are just too abrasive on my skin, leaving it looking very pink/red and feeling like I've run a cheese grater over my face, not fun! Finding alpha-hydroxy acids (glycolyic, lactic, citric etc), could be used to gently exfoliate without causing that raw feeling was a skin-saver.

For my skin I first use a mask to help exfoliate and gently unclog pores. I then use a detox mask, usually something with active charcoal or a clay to help draw out impurities and excess oil. Then finally I usually use a plumping and hydrating mask to give my skin a boost of moisture and help soothe.

Layering your face masks is something you should only do once a week, I usually do mine on a Sunday evening to get my skin ready for the week ahead, and I usually vary the masks I use depending on what my skins been like and how it feels.

All in all I would definitely say that my skin has been loads better since I started layering and it also seems to head off alot of the problems I have.

All the best

Rhix

XOXO

Stay In The Know:
bottom of page