top of page
My Pick:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

L'Oreal Infallible - first impressions.


Recently I've noticed that no matter what I wear under my foundation, I get to about half way through the day and I'm having problems with my foundation going all crazy-paving on my T-zone.

At first I thought it was because I'd missed a step in my makeup routine e.g. forgot my moisturiser or my primer. However, this turned out not to be the case.

So I decided that I needed a mattifying primer. I did a little bit of searching and decided to give the L'oreal Mattifying Primer a go, as I had been so impressed with their Infallible Pro Matte foundation.

The primer is clear (as you can see in the photo above). It has a gel like consistency, with a silicone type feeling as you spread it out on your skin. It does leave skin feeling smooth and looks matte.

I've tried this under the Pro Matte and the Total Cover. For the first few hours it looked good, but by the end of the day it didn't really stand up to the task as I still ended up with the foundation breaking up.

However, I have also recently been trying out the Bourjois CC cream and found that the mattifying base worked well underneath it. It might be something to do with the CC cream being a lighter coverage and not trapping so much oil under the foundation, which is what is causing the foundation to break up. (who knows? It's the only explanation I can come up with! lol). I'm going to give it one more go with the L'Oreal Infallible Pro Matte and if that doesn't work I'll be donating it to a good cause.

I also picked up a couple of the Infallible Matte Max, at the same time I picked up the Mattifying Base. I chose 002 Virgin and 004 Oops I Pink It Again, the colours are very flattering on me and I could see them working on lots of different skin tones.

I'm not sure what I was expecting, maybe something along the lines of a matte liquid lipstick? They are a dry formula, and you apply them using a tapered sponge that comes in the lid of the tube. The black shiny end unscrews from the coloured bottom and the applicator is spring loaded which pushes down into the product in the bottom half. Application is easy peasey and mess free. The finish is matte (as promised) without making your lips feel dry or tight. However, they are not transfer proof, they do last longer on the lip than a standard lipstick or gloss but not as well as a liquid lipstick.

All in all I'm going to reserve judgement on the Mattifying Base until I've given it one more go, but as it stands at the moment I'm not overly impressed and would probably give it 2 and a half out of 5. The Matte Max, I like the colours I picked up and enjoy wearing them but if your lips are a little bit dry the formula tends to pick up on it, so again I'd probably give these a 3 out of 5.

All the best

Rhix

XOXO


Stay In The Know:
bottom of page