top of page
My Pick:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

Mally and Laura Geller - First Impressions


I recently got given some Mally products; a blusher, a cream stick eyeshadow and an eyeliner.

The Blusher is a cream type formula, which Mally are calling a Bounce Back Blush, it's squishy and moves a bit like putty. It's in a lovely peachy pink colour, if you're looking for just a hint of colour you can use this over powder, but be warned if you try and build the colour it will move you foundation around and make it gather. It's a lovely colour but not very pigmented.

Also from Mally I tried the Shadow Stick Extra in Precious Gold. I've tried the Mally Shadow Sticks before and found them to be very good. This one on first try didn't seem to be as pigmented as the others and seemed to crease quite easily. However, on second try I used a little more force on the stick and got much better coverage, which also seemed to help the product stick better and not crease.

I was also given from Mally, their Evercolor Gel Waterproof Liner in Graphite, which is black not grey/charcoal as I would've expected. I've used Mally eyeliner in the past and was mightily please to get this one, as my last one broke and I had to throw it out (boohoo). This liner is lovely and soft with great pigmentation and doesn't pull at the skin, it glides! It's an automatic pencil that you just twist to get it to come out. It's pretty budge proof once it's set but is smudge-able when first applied (if you want to do that sort of thing).

I was also given some Laura Geller products; blusher, highlighter and a lipstick.

I'll start with the blusher, it called Baked Elements Blush in Siena, this is a powder and it is highly pigmented. It's a peachy shade with a shimmer to it. I'd always been a pink blusher person until I tried this and I have to say I really like it. I just have to be a bit careful applying it, or I end up looking a bit like Bridget Jones after the taxi ride to the law dinner. (see right). The blusher comes in quite a large compact, the blusher flips up to reveal a space underneath for the brush to sit in. The brush is soft and applies the blusher quite nicely, it's just a little bit of an odd shape but it does the job.

The highlighter is the Baked Brulee Highlighter in Honey Lavender, this is a baked powder (as the name suggests). It's a very natural looking highlight with a pinkish tone to it. This highlighter can be built up to give a more dramatic highlight, if that's what your looking for but it is very pink in tone.

Lastly is the Lasting Love Lip Stain in Tuscan Peach. I'm not really a fan of this. I think it's supposed to be a dupe for the Clinique Crayola Chubby Sticks, (I've not tried the Clinique Chubby sticks or the Crayola Collaboration). The formula is very sheer but does give colour, however I found that it tended to bleed and smear outside of the lip line and because of the lack of opacity, a lip liner would be out of the question.

All in all, I would give the Mally Bounce Back Blush a miss, it's not very pigmented and you would lose most of the colour if you used this under your powder. I'm willing to give the Mally eyeshadow the benefit of the doubt, I really like the other eyeshadow sticks I've used from Mally. The Mally eyeliner is a hell yes! I really like the smooth gliding formula that stays put without smudging all day. The Laura Geller Baked Elements Blush is lovely and I now have a new shade of blusher that i really like, choices, choices, I just love it! The Baked Brulee Highlighter is lovely and really smooth, I will definitely be putting this in my highlighter rotation. The Lasting Love Lip Stain can go die in the lipstick graveyard, this is definitely a hard pass, I wouldn't even say that it has moisturising properties even though the consistency is like a balm.

I hope you enjoyed this review, all the best

Rhix

XOXO

Stay In The Know:
bottom of page